Category Archives: Awards

Leo Messi FIFA Ballon d’Or winner

Leo Messi won his fifth Ballon d’Or ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar, after a year full of titles playing for FC Barcelona. The award gala in Zurich made the 28 years old player happy “It is a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage, winning again another Ballon d’Or after being there in the audience watching Cristiano win”, he said.

Leo Messi Ballon d'Or 2015
Leo Messi with the Ballon d’Or Award

FC Barcelona won five trophies in the last season, including the UEFA Champions League and La Liga titles, being a key player in every game, so it is a clearly deserved prize for the number 10 of the blaugrana team.

After two years with Ronaldo finishing ahead with a great performance in Real Madrid, Leo Messi recovers what he owned four times before and can not hide his happiness:

“It’s incredible this is my fifth. It’s much more than anything I’ve dreamed of as a kid. I want to thank everyone who voted for me and I want to thank my teammates (…) lastly, I want to thank football in general for everything it has brought me. Both the bad and the good. Because it has made me learn and grow.”

Lionel Messi is not a rookie winning this Ballon d’Or

Messi won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015, and this season seems a great opportunity for his sixth Ballon d’Or, but we must still wait a bit for it.

Leo Messi Ballon D'Or 2015
Leo Messi Ballon d’Or 2015 accepting speech

In the 2015 edition he was chosen by a 41.33% of votes, that is the third highest in the history of this award, clearly ahead of Ronaldo (27.76%) and Neymar (7.86%). Neymar and Messi helped Barça winning La Liga, the Copa del Rey and UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup. Five of six possible trophies, missing only the Spanish Super Cup in 2015. Ronaldo scored 57 goals over the calendar year, more than Messi, but not enough for his club to win any prize.

As always, they chose their votes wisely; Messi voted for his teammates Luis Suarez, Neymar and Andres Iniesta, and Ronaldo chose Karim Benzema, James Rodriguez and Gareth Bale. This is the 11th time the award went to a FC Barcelona player, five to Messi, two to Johan Cruyff, and one each to Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Stoichkov and Suarez.